Former State Senator, Santa Clara County Superintendent of Schools and Santa Clara County Deputy Executive Appointed to Palo Alto University Board of Trustees

December 2, 2021

Palo Alto University (PAU) is pleased to announce the election of three prominent community members to its Board of Trustees. The new trustees began their first term on October 13, 2021. 

Joining PAU’s Board of Trustees are former State Senator from California’s 15th District, Jim Beall, Santa Clara County Superintendent of Schools Mary Ann Dewan, PhD, and County of Santa Clara Deputy Executive, Ky G. Le. The new trustees are uniquely qualified to help PAU fulfill its academic mission of addressing pressing and emerging issues through research and training in psychology and counseling to equitably meet the needs of today’s diverse society.

“We are very pleased to welcome these new trustees. Their range experience, perspectives and deep commitment to the residents of Santa Clara County will help PAU in its efforts to engage local individuals and organizations and to establish reciprocal relationships with community partners in service of well-being and mental health,” said Daniel Kostenbauder, JD, Chair of the PAU Board of Trustees.

Senator Jim Beall

Senator Jim Beall’s vision and experience has provided the Silicon Valley with 30 years of leadership, making a difference in the lives of working families, seniors, foster care children, and people with disabilities. Representing California’s 15th District from 2012 to 2020, Beall worked tirelessly to improve regional transportation, increase educational funding, and support foster youth. He also chaired the Senate Transportation and Housing Committees. During this time, he wrote a bill allowing foster youth to stay with their foster families during college, sponsored bills to stop the over-drugging of foster children, and introduced legislation to better enforce state and federal “parity” laws, which require equal treatment of mental and physical health problems. Before joining the Senate, Beall served six years in the State Assembly, where he secured millions in funding for day care centers, parks, and hospitals, as well as to preserve open space.

Mary Ann Dewan, PhD

Mary Ann Dewan is the Santa Clara County Superintendent of Schools and has served in education for over 33 years. Her distinguished work in education is grounded in her commitment to serve the community and underserved, vulnerable youth and a mission that is centered on diversity, inclusion, equity, partnership, and social justice. She is a strong advocate for the expansion of early care and education, mental health and wellness, and inclusive education. Dr. Dewan believes in providing each and every child opportunities that promote high quality, equitable, and inclusive experiences.
Dr. Dewan has served in several leadership roles and on local and state level committees and commissions. She has received local and state recognitions, including the Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors Commendation in 2019, the California Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development (CASCD) Outstanding Instructional Leader Award, the Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors President's Medal for Exemplary Service During the COVID-19 Pandemic in 2020, and the 2021 Region 8 ACSA Superintendent of the Year Award. Dr. Dewan earned her doctorate in educational leadership from Indiana State University.

Ky G. Le

As a Deputy County Executive for the County of Santa Clara, Le oversees strategic initiatives to improve health, housing, and human services. His current portfolio includes affordable housing and homelessness, food insecurity and food system resilience, jail reforms, adult and juvenile probation, and the Vietnamese American Service Center. From 2011 to 2020 Le served as the Director of the County’s Office of Supportive Housing. He helped expand supportive housing and temporary shelter programs countywide and implement the 2016 Measure A Affordable Housing Bond.